This is truly sad. Though our friendship was sporadic I remember him very clearly and vividly. I was amazed how whenever we met he always seemed to be so much more interest in my interest then his own. At least that vividness survives.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .