You're right, they were two different scenes and two different vibes. But as far as giving a good representation of the particular scene and making you feel like you were there, 24 Hour Party People ruled.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .